Vote of No Confidence

September 25, 2020

A government can function only when it has majority support in the Lok Sabha. The party can remain in power when it **shows its strength through a floor test** which is primarily taken to know whether the executive enjoys the confidence of the legislature.

Vote of No Confidence

- If any member of the House feels that the government in power does not have a majority then he/ she can move a no-confidence motion.
- If the motion is accepted, then the party in power has to prove its majority in the House. The member **need not** give a reason for moving the no-confidence motion.
- A no-confidence motion can be moved by any member of the House. It can be moved only in the Lok Sabha and not Raiva Sabha.
- Rule 198 of the Rules of Procedure and conduct of Lok Sabha specifies the procedure for moving a no-confidence motion. The member has to give a written notice of the motion before 10 am which will be read out by the Speaker in the House.
- A minimum of 50 members have to accept the motion and accordingly, the Speaker will announce the date for discussion for the motion. The allotted date has to be within 10 days from the day the motion is accepted.
- If the government is not able to prove its majority in the House, then the government of the day has to resign.

History of Vote of No Confidence

- So far, **27 no-confidence motions** have been moved in Lok Sabha since Independence.
- Acharya Kripalani moved the first no confidence motion

against Jawaharlal Nehru in August 1963, immediately after the India-China war.

- Indira Gandhi as Prime Minister faced the most number with 15 no-confidence motions.
- Lal Bahadur Shastri and Narasimha Rao both faced it thrice, Morarji Desai twice and Jawaharlal Nehru, Rajiv Gandhi, Atal Bihari Vajpayee faced once each.
- All the no-confidence motions have been defeated except when Prime Minister Morarji Desai resigned during the discussions in July 1979.