The Central Universities (Amendment) Bill, 2021

August 9, 2021

In news- Lok Sabha has passed the Central Universities (Amendment) Bill, 2021 recently.

Background

The Union Cabinet had last month approved the establishment of a Central university and an integrated multi-purpose infrastructure development corporation for Ladakh at a cost of Rs 750 crore and the corporation with a fund of Rs 25 crore. The said expenditure shall be met from the Consolidated Fund of India through the budgetary provisions of the Ministry of Education.

Key provisions of the bill

- This bill amends the Central Universities Act, 2009.
- It seeks to set up a Central university in Ladakh.
- The Bill seeks to insert a new section 3E in the Central Universities Act, 2009 which provides for the establishment of a new University, to be known as the Sindhu Central University.
- The territorial jurisdiction of it will extend to the whole of the Union territory of Ladakh.

Why Ladakh?

At present, there is no Central University in the Union territory of Ladakh. Therefore, the Government has decided to establish a new Central University in the Union territory of Ladakh to ensure an increase in accessibility and quality of higher education and to facilitate and promote avenues of higher education and research for the people of the Union territory of Ladakh.

The Central Universities Act, 2009-

- It was enacted to establish and incorporate universities for teaching and research in various States and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto.
- The act regulates Central Universities and their purpose, powers, governance etc.
- The Act also has special provisions with respect to Jammu and Kashmir and the state of Bihar.

Central Universities in India-

 Central Universities are those universities which are established by an Act of Parliament and are under the purview of the Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Education.

There are more than 40 Central Universities established in India, of which Allahabad University is the oldest of all, being established in 1887.