## Solidarity and Stability Deal

February 18, 2021

**In News:** Recently, Gulf states signed a 'solidarity and stability' deal at the 41st Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) summit held in Al Ula, Saudi Arabia.

Solidarity and Stability Deal

- It is an agreement on regional "solidarity and stability" aimed at resolving a three-year embargo against Qatar.
- Members of the GCC signed a deal in AlUla, Saudi Arabia to remove all the sanctions over Qatar and re-open their land, sea and air borders to Qatar.
- Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and UAE are the members of GCC.
- To unite efforts to promote the Gulf region and to confront challenges that surround them, especially the threats posed by the Iranian regime's nuclear and ballistic missile programme and its plans for sabotage and destruction.
- In June 2017, Saudi Arabia and its allies, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Bahrain and Egypt severed ties with Qatar and imposed a naval, air and land blockade on the country.

## Background

- Qatar has remained under an air, land and sea embargo imposed by Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain and Egypt since 2017.
- The Saudi-led bloc also severed diplomatic relations with the gas-rich country, accusing it of funding terrorism and backing its regional rival Iran.
- Doha denies supporting terrorist groups, but admits to supporting Islamist movements including Egypt's outlawed Muslim Brotherhood.

## **Gulf Cooperation Council**

- Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) is a political and economic alliance of six Middle Eastern countries.
- The member nations are Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Bahrain, and Oman.
- The GCC was established in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, in May 1981.
- The GCC promotes economic, security, cultural and social cooperation between the six states and holds a summit every year to discuss cooperation and regional affairs.