Sahitya Akademi

July 5, 2019

Recently Akademi has selected 22 writers for the Sahitya Akademi Bal Sahitya Puraskar 2019 and 23 writers for Yuva Puraskar 2019.

About Sahitya Akademi

- Sahitya Akademi, India's National Academy of Letters was formally inaugurated by the Government of India on 12 March 1954.
- The Government of India Resolution, which set forth the constitution of the Akademi, described it as a national organisation to work actively for the development of Indian letters and to set high literary standards to foster and co-ordinate literary activities in the Indian languages and to promote through them the cultural unity of the country.
- Though set up by the Government, the Akademi functions as an autonomous organisation. It was registered as a society on 7 January 1956, under the Societies Registration Act, 1860.
- As India's premier literary institution, the Akademi preserves and promotes literature contained in twenty four Indian languages recognised by it through Awards, Fellowships, grants, Publications, Literary Programmes, Workshops and Exhibitions.
- The Akademi also undertakes literary exchange programmes with various countries across the globe to promote Indian literature beyond the shores of India.
- Sahitya Akademi, India's National Academy of Letters, is the central institution for literary dialogue, publication and promotion in the country and the only institution that undertakes literary activities in 24 Indian languages, including English.
- It also gives special awards called Bhasha Samman to

significant contribution to the languages not formally recognized by the Akademi as also for contribution to classical and medieval literature.

- The Akademi has launched Centres for Translation in Bangalore, Ahmedabad, Kolkata and Delhi, and an Archive of Indian Literature in Delhi.
- Languages Recognised: Besides the 22 languages enumerated in the Constitution ofIndia, the SahityaAkademi has recognised English and Rajasthani as languages in which its programme may be implemented.

Regional offices:

- 1. Kolkata
- 2. Banglore
- 3. Chennai
- 4. Mumbai
- 5. Agartala