Promotion of Sanskrit language

August 7, 2019

Source: Press Information Bureau

Government of India has taken several steps for promotion of Sanskrit language. The measures taken by the Government for the promotion of Sanskrit are:

- Providing financial assistance to Adarsh Sanskrit Mahavidyalayas / Shodha Sansthans.
- 2. Award of merit scholarships to students of **Sanskrit Pathasala** to College level.
- 3. Financial assistance to NGOs / Higher Educational Institutions of Sanskrit for various Research Projects / Programmes.
- 4. Retired eminent Sanskrit scholars are engaged under the **Shastra Chudamani scheme** for teaching.
- 5. Sanskrit is also taught through Non-formal Sanskrit Education (NFSE) programme, by setting up Non-Formal Sanskrit learning centres, in reputed institutions like Indian Institutes Technology, Ayurveda institutions, Modern Colleges and Universities.
- 6. Presidential awards for Sanskrit Language are awarded annually to 16 senior scholars and to 5 young scholars.
- 7. Financial Assistance for Publication, Reprint of rare Sanskrit books.
- Ashtaadashi containing eighteen Projects for sustaining the growth of Sanskrit has been implemented.

Three Sanskrit institutions

Further, in order to make the masses conversant with the

Sanskrit language the three Sanskrit institutions viz,.

- 1. Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan (RSKS), Delhi.
- 2. Sri Lal Bahadur Shastri Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha (SLBSRSV), New Delhi and
- 3. Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha (RSV), Tirupati

Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan has already adopted 5 villages viz.

- Jubatara (Mohanpur), Tripura.
- Masot(Pragpur), Himachal Pradesh.
- 3. Chittebail(Shimoga), Karnataka
- 4. Adat(Puzhakkal), Kerala and
- 5. Barai(Huzoor), Madhya Pradesh

About Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan (RSKS), Delhi

- The Sansthan was established in 15th October, 1970 as an autonomous organisation registered under the Societies Registration Act, 1860 (Act XXI of 1860) for the development and promotion of Sanskrit all over the country.
- It is fully funded by Government of India. It functions as an apex body for propagation and development of Sanskrit and assists the Ministry of Human Resource Development in formulating and implementing various plans and schemes for the development of Sanskrit studies.
- It has assumed the role of a nodal body for the effective implementation of various recommendations made by the Sanskrit Commission set up by the Government of India, Ministry of Education in 1956 to consider the propagation and development of Sanskrit language and education in all its aspects.
- Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan has now been declared as Deemed University on the recommendation of the University Grants Commission by the Ministry of Human

Resource Development , Department of Higher & Secondary Education, Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi

About Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha

- It is a Sanskrit language university, located in New Delhi, India.
- It was established on 8 October 1962, and the University Grants Commission, granted the status of a deemed university to the Vidyapeetha in November 1987

About Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha (RSV), Tirupati

- Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha, a University established under section 3 of the UGC Act, 1956 is a premier institution in the field of higher learning in Sanskrit studies, Traditional Sastras and Pedagogy. It is funded by the Ministry of Human Resource Development through University Grants Commission, New Delhi. The Vidyapeetha has a long history in the service of Sanskrit education.
- The vidyapeetha was established at Tirupati (A.P.) in 1961 by the Government of India on the recommendations of the Sanskrit Commission (1957) as an autonomous body under the name of Kendriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha Tirupati Society. Dr. S.Radhakrishnan, the then Vice President of India laid the foundation stone of the vidyapeetha on 4th January 1962