## Police and Public Order in Delhi

August 17, 2020

Constitutional Provisions

- Art 239AA(3)(a): The Legislative Assembly shall have power to make laws for the whole or any part of the National Capital Territory with respect to any of the matters enumerated in the state list or in the concurrent list except matters with respect to entries 1,2, and 18 (Public Order, Police and Land respectively) of the state list.
- The administrative and legislative competence on the subjects of public order and police vests with the president acting through the lieutenant governor.
- [Delhi police comes under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Home Affairs].

## Organization Structure

- In 1978, the Delhi Police Act was passed and the Commissioner System was introduced. Since then, the Commissioner of Police, Delhi is heading the Delhi Police.
- Delhi has been divided into Ranges and further divided into Police Districts for administrative and operational convenience. Each Range is headed by an officer of the rank of Joint Commissioner of Police and the District is headed by an Additional Commissioner of Police or Deputy Commissioner of Police.
- Each Police District is further divided into Subdivisions and Police Stations. The overall supervision of the Police Stations/Police Posts in a District rests with Additional Commissioner of Police or Deputy Commissioner of Police who is assisted by 2

Additional Deputy Commissioners of Police.

- A Subdivision of District Police is headed by an officer of the rank of Assistant Commissioner of Police. A Police Station is headed by a Station House Officer who is an officer of the rank of Inspector. Prevention, investigation and detection of crimes and maintenance of peace & order are the important functions of the Police. There are 5 specialised crime units: Economic Offenses Wing, Crime Branch, and Special Cell, Special Police Unit for Women and Children and Vigilance.
- Delhi Police is divided into 12 branches under the Commissioner of Delhi Police (CP). The main 4 among the branches, each under a Special Commissioner of Police (Special CP) are: Administration, Training, Security and Intelligence. In addition to the above officers there are Special CP (Law & Order), Special CP (Crime), Special CP (Traffic) & Special CP (Special Cell).

The hierarchy in Delhi Police:

## Officers

- Commissioner of Police (CP)
- Special Commissioner of Police (Special CP)
- Joint Commissioner of Police (Joint CP)
- Additional Commissioner of Police (Additional CP)
- Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP) {Selection Grade}
- Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP)
- Additional Deputy Commissioner of Police (Additional DCP)
- Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP)

## Sub-ordinates

- Inspector of Police
- Sub-Inspector of Police
- Assistant Sub-Inspector of Police
- Head Constable

Constable