National Council of Science Museums (NCSM)

August 3, 2021

In news- National Council of Science Museums (NCSM), has developed a chain of science museums and science centers throughout the Country including Science Cities through the Scheme for Promotion of Culture of Science (SPoCS).

About NCSM-

- National Council of Science Museums (NCSM) is an autonomous organisation under Indian Ministry of Culture.
- It is the largest chain of science centers or museums under a single administrative umbrella in the world.
- Currently, 25 Science Museums/Science Centres in the country are functioning under the administrative control of National Council of Science Museums (NCSM).
- It has been built to coordinate all informal science communication activities in the museum space in the country.
- It is headquartered in Kolkata.
- The first science museum, Birla Industrial and Technological Museum (BITM), Kolkata under CSIR, was opened on May 2, 1959.
- In July 1965 the second science museum, Visvesvaraya Industrial & Technological Museum (VITM) was opened in Bangalore.
- The work for the third centre at Mumbai was taken up in 1974.
- In 1978, it was decided by the Government of India to delink from CSIR the two science museums then operating at Kolkata and Bangalore and also the one being set up at Mumbai and put them under a newly formed Society registered on April 4, 1978 as National Council of

Science Museums (NCSM).

 The main objective of NCSM is to portray the growth of science and technology and their applications in industry and human welfare, with a view to develop scientific attitude and temper amongst the people.

Central Research & Training Laboratory (CRTL), in Kolkata is the Council's central hub for professional training, research and development. In 2011, NCSM formed a fully owned company named 'Creative Museum Designers' (CMD) for development of Museums, Science Centres, Galleries etc..