National Committee to commemorate75 years of independence

March 10, 2021

In news: Prime Minister chaired the first meeting of the
National Committee to commemorate 75 years of independence,
Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav

About the National Committee

- A high-level National Committee headed by Prime Minister constituted to commemorate 75 years of India's Independence
- As stated by the Prime Minister in his Independence Day speech of 15 August, 2017, Government of India has taken a decision to commemorate 75 years of India's Independence which falls on 15th August 2022 in a befitting manner at national and international level in the form of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav

The National Committee will have 259 Members

- The National Committee includes dignitaries and eminent citizens from all walks of life.
- It will provide policy direction and guidelines for formulation of programs for the commemoration of 75th anniversary of Indian Independence, at the national and international levels.
- A National Implementation Committee under the chairmanship of Hon'ble Home Minister had earlier been constituted for the commemoration, to guide the policies and programs to be undertaken by various Ministries of Government of India under the India 75 commemoration.
- A Committee of Secretaries has also been set up for this

purpose.

- The celebrations are proposed to be launched 75 weeks prior to 15th August 2022 i.e. on 12 March, 2021, which is the 91st anniversary of the historic Salt Satyagraha led by Mahatma Gandhi.
- In order to discuss modalities relating to preparatory activities under the commemoration beginning from 12th March 2021, with the members of High Level Committee, it has been decided to convene the first meeting of the Committee on 8th March 2021.

Five Pillars

The Prime Minister informed that 5 pillars have been decided for the celebration of the 75 years. These are:

- 1. Freedom Struggle
- 2. Ideas at 75
- 3. Achievements at 75
- 4. Actions at 75 and
- 5. Resolve at 75.