Mura-Drava-Danube as the world's first 'five-country biosphere reserve'

September 20, 2021

In news— Recently, UNESCO designated Mura-Drava-Danube (MDD)
as the world's first 'five-country biosphere reserve'.

About the five country Biosphere reserve-

 Stretching across Austria, Slovenia, Croatia, Hungary and Serbia, the biosphere reserve covers 700km of the Mura, Drava and Danube rivers.



- The total area of the reserve, a million hectares in the so-called 'Amazon of Europe', makes it the largest riverine protected area on the continent.
- The strategy's aim is to revitalise 25,000 km of rivers and protect 30 percent of the European Union's land area by 2030.
- The reserve is home to floodplain forests, gravel and sand banks, river islands, oxbows and meadows.
- It is home to continental Europe's highest density of breeding white-tailed eagle (more than 150 pairs), as well as endangered species such as the little tern, black stork, otters, beavers and sturgeons.

Mura river-

- It is a river in Central Europe rising in the Hohe Tauern national park of the Central Eastern Alps in Austria.
- It is a tributary of the Drava and subsequently the Danube.

Drava river-

- It is a river in southern Central Europe.
- It is the fifth or sixth longest tributary of the Danube.
- Its source is near the market town of Innichen (San Candido), in the Puster Valley of South Tyrol, Italy.

Danube river-

- It is the second-longest river in Europe, after the Volga in Russia.
- It flows through much of Central and Southeastern Europe, from the Black Forest into the Black Sea.
- The largest cities on the river are Vienna, Budapest,
 Belgrade and Bratislava