Kuvempu Award, 2020

July 3, 2021 In news

Kuvempu Award has been awarded to renowned Odia poet Dr Rajendra Kishore Panda for the year 2020

About the award

- The Kuvempu Rashtriya Puraskar, the national award instituted in memory of late poet laureate Kuvempu.
- The prestigious award carries a cash award of Rs 5 lakh, a silver medal, and a citation.
- Founded in 1992, Rashtrakavi Kuvempu Trust instituted this national annual literary award in 2013 in the name of Kuvempu
- It recognises litterateurs who had contributed in any language recognised by the Constitution of India.
- Ever since, writers from various languages had been chosen and conferred the award at programmes held in Kuppali, the birthplace of Kuvempu in Shivamogga district, on December 29 to mark his birth anniversary.

Dr Rajendra Kishore Panda

- Born on June 24, 1944, Dr Panda writes in the Odia language. He has published 16 poetry collections and a novel.
- He is a major Indian poet who steered the path of modern Odia poetry to great heights.
- He was awarded the Gangadhar National Award in 2010, and the Sahitya Akademi Award in 1985.

Kuvempu

 Kuppali Venkatappa Puttappa, popularly known by his pen name Kuvempu, was an Indian poet, playwright, novelist and critic.

- He was born on 29 December 1904 in Hirkodige, a village in Koppa taluk of Chikmagalur district and raised in Kuppalli, a village in Shivamogga district, Karnataka.
- He was the first Kannada writer to be decorated with the Jnanpith Award.
- He initiated education in Kannada as the language medium.
- He penned the Karnataka State Anthem Jaya Bharata Jananiya Tanujate.
- For his contributions to Kannada Literature, the Government of Karnataka decorated him with the honorific Rashtrakavi ("National Poet") in 1964 and Karnataka Ratna ("The Gem of Karnataka") in 1992.
- He was conferred the Padma Vibhushan by the Government of India in 1988.

Other National literary awards in India

Jnanpith Award

- Gyanpeeth award is considered as the highest literature award of India.
- Established 1961
- It is conferred to those Indian citizens who have done some exemplary literature works in any of the official languages of India.
- Awarded by Gyanpeeth Trust
- This award is associated with a cash prize of Rs 11 Lakhs and the decoration includes a bronze goddess Sarawati idol.

Sahitya Akademi Fellowship

- It was established 1968
- Awarded by Sahitya Akademi, Govt. of India
- This award is conferred for immortal literature works in any of the officially approved 22 languages of India including Rajasthani and English making the total

acceptable languages as 24.

Sahitya Akademi Award

- This award is also provided by Sahitya Akademi.
- It was started in 1954
- This award carries a cash prize of Rs 1 Lakh.
- The Sahitya Akademi award is the second-highest literary honour by the Government of India, after the Jnanpith award.