Jammu and Kashmir Official Languages Bill, 2020

October 27, 2020 In news

The Jammu and Kashmir Official Languages Bill, 2020 was passed by Parliament

Key features of the bill

- The proposed bill t seeks to declare certain languages as official languages of the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir
- Official languages of J&K: The Bill declares Kashmiri, Dogri, Urdu, Hindi and English as the official languages to be used for the official purposes of the union territory, from such date as the Administrator of the union territory may notify.
- As per the bill the business in the Legislative Assembly of the union territory will be transacted in these official languages
- Use of English language to continue: According to the bill, English may continue to be used in the union territory for those administrative and legislative purposes for which it was being used before the commencement