Hyderabad hosts the firstever E-Prix race(Formula E)

February 13, 2023

<u>In news</u>— The first-ever ABB FIA Formula E World Championship race in India took place in Hyderabad.

About Formula E World Championship-

- E-Prix is the electric equivalent of a Formula 1 race.
- Essentially this is the pinnacle of electric motorsport, with Hyderabad now becoming the 30th location to host an E-Prix.
- They flew across the 2.83km long Hyderabad track alongside the Hussain Sagar Lake and NTR Gardens, with 18 corners designed to take advantage of Formula E's enhanced regenerative braking.
- The 'E' in Formula E stands for electric with the entirety of the racing car powered by a battery
- Formula 1 did introduce a hybrid motor in 2014, and in attempts to 'greenify', it's aiming for carbon neutral synthetic fuels from 2026. But F1 still is fundamentally a non-electric sport.
- The other major difference is Formula E has a common spec for all its teams and drivers the same chassis and battery.
- The ABB FIA Formula E World Championship is accelerated by Greenko — an energy transition and decarbonization solutions provider.

What is a Formula One race?

- Formula One (more commonly known as Formula 1 or F1) is the highest class of international racing for open-wheel single-seater formula racing cars sanctioned by the Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA).
- The FIA Formula One World Championship has been one of the premier forms of racing around the world since its

- inaugural season in 1950.
- The word formula in the name refers to the set of rules to which all participants' cars must conform to.A Formula One season consists of a series of races, known as Grands Prix.
- Grands Prix take place in multiple countries and continents around the world on either purpose-built circuits or closed public roads.
- A points system is used at Grands Prix to determine two annual World Championships: one for the drivers, and one for the constructors (the teams).
- Each driver must hold a valid Super Licence, the highest class of racing licence issued by the FIA, and the races must be run on tracks graded "1", the highest graderating issued by the FIA for track.