History of modern Olympics

April 7, 2023

<u>In news</u>— It was on April 6, 1896, the inaugural Olympic Games kicked off in Athens, Greece.

History of modern Olympics-

- The Olympic Games, which originated in ancient Greece as many as 3,000 years ago, were revived in the late 19th century and have become the world's preeminent sporting competition.
- From the 8th century B.C. to the 4th century A.D., the Games were held every four years in Olympia, located in the western Peloponnese peninsula, in honor of the god Zeus.
- Most people know little about the genesis of the modern Games beyond the fact that it was the brainchild of French Baron Pierre de Coubertin.
- The history of the modern Olympic Games predates de Coubertin, beginning all the way back in 1830s Greece.
- However, what de Coubertin can be credited for is organising the "Congress for the Revival of the Olympic Games" in 1894 in Paris.
- This conference, which had delegates from across Europe, would last several days and it was here that the first International Olympic Games, to be held in Athens in 1896, were proposed.
- It was Evangelos Zappas, a veteran of the Greek War of Independence, had proposed to the Greek government in 1856 to hold the Olympics which he would fund from his own pocket.
- Finally, in 1859, after three years of lobbying the Greek government, Zappas's Olympics were held in a city square in Athens. A bunch of competitions were organised, including running, discus, javelin throwing, wrestling, jumping, and pole climbing – all events

described to have taken place in Ancient Greek Olympics. Zappas promised cash prizes to winners.

- Zappas left his fortune for funding future Olympiads and such games were repeated in 1870, 1875, and 1888, held in the newly-built Panathenaic Stadium (again, funded by Zappas).
- The first modern Olympics took place in 1896 in Athens, and featured 280 participants from 12 nations, competing in 43 events.
- The Athens Olympics, held under the aegis of the newly founded International Olympic Committee, would be a rousing success.
- Held in the Panathenaic stadium, it was the first international sports meet of its scale to ever be organised.
- Since 1994, the Summer and Winter Olympic Games have been held separately and have alternated every two years.

Year	Winter or Summer	Host City	Host Country
1896	Summer	Athens	Greece
1898	NA	NA	NA
1900	Summer	Paris	France
1902	NA	NA	NA
1904	Summer	St. Louis	United States
1906	Not Recognized by IOC	Athens	Greece
1908	Summer	London	United Kingdom
1910	NA	NA	NA
1912	Summer	Stockholm	Sweden
1914	NA	NA	NA
1916	Cancelled due to WWI	Berlin	Germany
1918	NA	NA	NA
1920	Summer	Antwerp	Belgium
1922	NA	NA	NA
1924	Winter	Chamonix	France
1924	Summer	Paris	France
1928	Winter	St. Moritz	Switzerland
1928	Summer	Amsterdam	Netherlands
1932	Winter	Lake Placid	United States
1932	Summer	Los Angeles	United States
1936	Winter	Garmisch-Partenkirchen	Nazi Germany
1936	Summer	Berlin	Nazi Germany
1940	Cancelled due to WWII	Sapporo	Empire of Japan
1940	Cancelled due to WWII	Garmisch-Partenkirchen	Nazi Germany
1944	Cancelled due to WWII	Tokyo	Empire of Japan
1944	Cancelled due to WWII	Helsinki	Finland

Year	Winter or Summer	Host City	Host Country
1948	Winter	St. Moritz	Switzerland
1948	Summer	London	United Kingdom
1952	Winter	Oslo	Norway
1952	Summer	Helsinki	Finland
1956	Winter	Cortina d'Ampezzo	Italy
1956	Summer	Melbourne/Stockholm	Australia/Sweden
1960	Winter	Squaw Valley	United States
1960	Summer	Rome	Italy
1964	Winter	Innsbruck	Austria
1964	Summer	Tokyo	Japan
1968	Winter	Grenoble	France
1968	Summer	Mexico City	Mexico
1972	Winter	Sapporo	Japan
1972	Summer	Munich	West Germany
1976	Winter	Innsbruck	Austria
1976	Summer	Montreal	Canada
1980	Winter	Lake Placid	United States
1980	Summer	Moscow	Soviet Union
1984	Winter	Sarajevo	Yugoslavia
1984	Summer	Los Angeles	United States
1988	Winter	Calgary	Canada
1988	Summer	Seoul	South Korea
1992	Winter	Albertville	France
1992	Summer	Barcelona	Spain

Year	Winter or Summer	Host City	Host Country
1994	Winter	Lillehammer	Norway
1996	Summer	Atlanta	United States
1998	Winter	Nagano	Japan
2000	Summer	Sydney	Australia
2002	Winter	Salt Lake City	United States
2004	Summer	Athens	Greece
2006	Winter	Turin	Italy
2008	Summer	Beijing	China
2010	Winter	Vancouver	Canada
2012	Summer	London	United Kingdom
2014	Winter	Sochi	Russia
2016	Summer	Rio de Janiero	Brazil
2018	Winter	PyeongChang	South Korea
2020	Summer	Tokyo	Japan
2022	Winter	Beijing	China
2024	Summer	Paris	France
2026	Winter	TBA	TBA
2028	Summer	Los Angeles	United States