e-ILP platform launched in Manipur

September 6, 2021

In news- Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh recently launched electronic Inner Line Permit (ILP) counters from state capital Imphal.

Key updates-

- Besides Imphal, two more counters, Jiribam and Mao, have been inaugurated.
- Under the portal, a person from outside the state can apply online for ILP by logging in to manipurilponline.mn.gov.in and get the permit from issuing centres at Imphal airport, Mao gate, Jiribam railway station and Jiribam ILP exit counter after onsite verification.
- The e-ILP tracking system has been developed to mend the loopholes in the procedures adopted to issue the permit and its tracking system.
- It has a comprehensive dashboard system that would actively show information such as number of people entering the state on a particular date and time and graphical break-up based presentation of people visiting through different entry gates.
- The system is also enabled with automated generation of a defaulted list of people who have overstayed beyond the permitted number of days as per the permit.
- The ILP system came into effect in Manipur on January 1, 2020.

What is Inner Line Permit system?

• ILP is an official travel document issued to allow inward travel of an Indian citizen into a protected area for a limited period.

- It is obligatory for Indian citizens from outside those states to obtain a permit for entering into the protected state.
- ILP allows Indian citizens to go and live in any State protected under ILP for a specific period of time.
- Any person is entitled to renew his permit every six months if he is not a native in these states despite the fact that he/she is a long-term resident.
- It also regulates the movement to certain areas located near the international borders of India.
- It is **issued by the concerned states** coming under the protection of ILP.

History of ILP

- ILP was introduced by the British Government under the **Bengal East Frontier Regulations(BEFR)**, 1873, in the states of Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Mizoram, and Manipur
- The BEFR prohibits an outsider's "British subject or foreign citizen" entry into the area beyond the Inner Line without a pass and his purchase of land there.
- On the other hand, the Inner Line also protected the commercial interests of the British from the tribal communities.
- After Independence, the Indian government replaced "British subjects" with "Citizen of India".

Nagaland, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh are the three other states that have the ILP system.