## Department Of Agriculture Cooperation And Farmers Welfare (Dac&Fw)

February 27, 2021 DAC&FW Organisation

- The DAC&FW is organized into 28 Divisions and has five attached offices and twenty-one subordinate offices which are spread across the country for coordination with state level agencies and implementation of Central Sector Schemes in their respective fields.
- Further, one Public Sector Undertakings, nine autonomous bodies, ten national level cooperative organizations and two authorities are functioning under the administrative control of the Department.

## Department At A Glance

- •54.6% of the population is engaged in agriculture and allied activities (census 2011) and it contributes 17.4% to the country's Gross Value Added (current price 2014-15, 2011-12 series).
- Given the importance of the agriculture sector, the Government of India took several steps for its sustainable development.
- Steps have been taken to improve soil fertility on a sustainable basis through the soil health card scheme, to provide improved access to irrigation and enhanced water efficiency through Pradhanmantri Gram Sinchai Yojana, to support organic farming through Paramparagat Krishi Vikas Yojana (PKVY) and to support for creation of a unified national agriculture market to boost the incomes of farmers.

## Structure

- The Department of Agriculture, Cooperation & Farmers Welfare (DAC&FW) is one of the three constituent Departments of the Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, the other two being Department of Animal Husbandry, Dairying & Fisheries (DAHD&F) and Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE).
- This Department is headed by the Agriculture & Farmers Welfare Minister and is assisted by three Ministers of State.
- The Secretary (DAC&FW) is the administrative head of the Department The Secretary is assisted by one Principal Adviser, five Additional Secretaries including One Financial Adviser, Agriculture Commissioner, 12 Joint Secretaries including Mission Director (National Horticulture Mission) & Mission Director (National Food Security Mission) Horticulture Commissioner Horticulture Advisor, Economic Advisor and two Deputy Director Generals. In addition, Chairman of Commission for Agriculture Costs and Prices (CACP) advises the Department on pricing policies for selected agricultural crops.
- The DAC&FW is organized into 27 divisions (Annexure-1) and has five attached Offices and twenty-one subordinate offices (Annexure-2) which are spread across the country for coordination with state level agencies and implementation of Central Sector Schemes in their respective fields.
- Further, one Public Sector Undertakings, nine autonomous bodies, ten national-level cooperative organizations and two authorities (Annexure-3) are functioning under administrative control of the Department.