Conference of the Central Administrative Tribunal

February 25, 2020

Source: PIB

The annual All India Conference of the Central Administrative Tribunal was held at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi on 16th February 2020.

Key highlights

- The Conference was presided over by Hon'ble Mr. Ravi Shankar Prasad, Union Minister for Law and Justice.
- The one day conference was attended by Judicial and Administrative Members from all 17 Benches of CAT from across the country, members of the CAT BAR Association, and eminent Jurists

About Central Administrative Tribunal

- CAT has been established for adjudication of disputes with respect to recruitment and conditions of service of persons appointed to public services and posts in connection with the affairs of the Union or other local authorities within the territory of India or under the control of Government of India and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto. This was done in pursuance of the amendment of the Constitution of India by Articles 323A.
- 323A mentions that the Parliament may, by law, provide for the adjudication or trial by administrative tribunals of disputes and complaints with respect to recruitment and conditions of service of persons appointed to public services and posts in connection with the affairs of the Union or of any State or of any local or other authority within the territory of India

or under the control of the Government of India or of any corporation owned or controlled by the Government.

Jurisdiction

- In addition to Central Government employees, the Government of India has notified 45 other organizations to bring them within the jurisdiction of the Central Administrative Tribunal.
- The provisions of the Administrative Tribunals Act, 1985 do not, however, apply to members of paramilitary forces, armed forces of the Union, officers or employees of the Supreme Court, or to persons appointed to the Secretariat Staff of either House of Parliament or the Secretariat staff of State/Union Territory Legislatures.

Jurisdiction of Benches of Central Administrative Tribunal

Sl No.	Bench	Jurisdiction of the Bench
1.	Principal Bench(New Delhi)	National Capital Territory of Delhi
2.	Ahmedabad Bench	State of Gujarat
3.	Allahabad Bench	 State of Uttar Pradesh excluding the Districts mentioned against Serial Number 4 under the jurisdiction of Lucknow Bench. 2. State of Uttaranchal
4.	Lucknow Bench	Districts of Lucknow, Hardoi, Kheri, Rai Bareli, Sitapur, Unnao, Faizabad, Ambedkar Nagar, Baharaich, Shravasti, Barabanki, Gonda, Balrampur, Pratapgarh, Sultanpur in the state of Uttar Pradesh.
5.	Bangalore Bench	State of Karnataka
6.	Calcutta Bench	 State of Sikkim State of West Bengal Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands

		<u> </u>
7.	Chandigarh Bench	 State of Jammu and Kashmir State of Haryana State of Himachal Pradesh State of Punjab Union Territory of Chandigarh
8.	Cuttack Bench	State of Odissa
9.	Ernakulam Bench	 State of Kerala Union Territory of Lakshadweep
10.	Guwahati Bench	1. State of Assam 2. State of Manipur 3. State of Meghalaya 4. State of Nagaland 5. State of Tripura 6. State of Arunachal Pradesh 7. State of Mizoram
11.	Hyderabad Bench	State of Andhra Pradesh
12.	Jabalpur Bench	 State of Madhya Pradesh State of Chattisgarh
13.	Jodhpur Bench	State of Rajasthan excluding the Districts mentioned against Number 14 under the jurisdiction of Jaipur Bench
14.	Jaipur Bench	District of Ajmer, Alwar, Baran, Bharatpur, Bundi, Dausa, Dholpur, Jaipur, Jhalawar, Jhunjhunu, Kota, Sawai Madhopur, Sikar, Tonk and Karauli in the state of Rajasthan
15.	Chennai Bench	 State of Tamil Nadu Union Territory of Pondicherry
16.	Mumbai Bench	1. State of Maharashtra 2. State of Goa 3. Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli 4. Union Territory of Daman and Diu
17.	Patna Bench	 State of Bihar State Jharkhand