Changes notified to the areas regulated by the Inner Line Permit

January 3, 2020 <u>Source:</u> PRS India

Currently, certain areas in Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram and Nagaland are notified as "Inner Line" areas under the **Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulations**, 1873. In these areas, entry and exit of persons is regulated by an Inner Line Permit.

The Ministry of Home Affairs has issued a notification to replace these areas. The Inner Line will now include:

- 1. Arunachal Pradesh
- 2. Manipur(recently added)
- 3. Mizoram, and
- 4. Notified areas of Nagaland.

The Home Department of Nagaland has notified Dimapur under the Inner Line, in addition to the rest of the state.

Recently the Meghalaya cabinet has approved a resolution to bring the state under the Inner Line Permit (under the Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulation, 1873) but it is yet to be approved by the Union government.

About ILP

- ILP was introduced by the British Government in the Bengal East Frontier Regulations, 1873, in the states of Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Mizoram, and Manipur
- Inner LIne Permit (ILP) is a document similar to visa, issued by the Government of India to an Indian citizen for a limited time
- •It was introduced so as to stop the outsiders from

plundering the wealth in these states.

- ILP allows Indian citizens to go and live in any State protected under ILP for a specific period of time.
- Any person is entitled to renew his permit every six months if he is not a native in these states despite the fact that he/she is a long-term resident.
- It also regulates the movement to certain areas located near the international borders of India.
- It is issued by the concerned states coming under the protection of ILP.