## Bullet Train(High-Speed Rail) Projects in India

March 20, 2020

**Source:** PIB & NHRCL

As of now, Mumbai-Ahmedabad High-Speed Rail Corridor is the only sanctioned High-Speed Rail Project, which is under execution with technical and financial assistance from the Government of Japan.

Further, the Ministry of Railways has decided to undertake the Detailed Project Report (DPR) for the following six High-Speed Rail (HSR) corridors:

- 1. Delhi -Varanasi
- 2. Delhi Ahmedabad
- 3. Mumbai Nagpur
- 4. Mumbai Hyderabad
- 5. Chennai Mysore
- 6. Delhi —Amritsar.

The alignment for these corridors has yet not been finalized, as the DPR study is in progress.

## A brief note on Mumbai-Ahmedabad High-Speed Rail Corridor

- It is the first High-Speed Rail corridor to be implemented in the country, with the technical and financial assistance of Government of Japan, has been identified from Mumbai to Ahmedabad.
- •With a total of twelve stations in the States of Maharashtra, Gujarat and Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli, the corridor will have a length of 508.17 Km.
- The high-speed rail will cover 155.76 kms in the state of Maharashtra (7.04 Kms in Mumbai sub-urban, 39.66 kms

- in Thane district & 109.06 kms in Palghar district), 4.3 kms in the union territory of Dadra & Nagar Haveli and 348.04 kms in the state of Gujarat.
- High-speed rail will cover total 12 stations namely Mumbai, Thane, Virar, Boisar, (in Maharashtra), Vapi, Bilimora, Surat, Bharuch, Vadodara, Anand, Ahmedabad and Sabarmati (in Gujarat). Where a limited-stop (in Surat & Vadodara) service will cover this distance in 1 hr. and 58 mins and all stops service will take 2 hr. 57 min to cover this distance.

×

- High-speed rail will be operating at a speed of 320 Km/hr at an elevated (10 to 15 m) track above the ground on a viaduct all along except 26 kms in Mumbai, which will be underground.
- All stations will be elevated except Bandra Kurla Complex station (Mumbai), which will be underground.