Biodiversity heritage sites

November 9, 2020

In news

Karnataka get four more areas as biodiversity heritage sites

What are the biodiversity heritage sites?

"Biodiversity Heritage Sites" (BHS) are well-defined areas that are unique, ecologically fragile ecosystems — terrestrial, coastal and inland waters and, marine having rich biodiversity comprising of any one or more of the following components:

- The richness of wild as well as domesticated species or intra-specific categories
- High endemism
- Presence of rare and threatened species
- Keystone species
- Species of evolutionary significance
- Wild ancestors of domestic/ cultivated species or their varieties
- Past pre-eminence of biological components represented by fossil beds and having significant cultural
- Ethical or aesthetic values and are important for the maintenance of cultural diversity
- With or without a long history of human association with them

New sites

Following are the four new areas that Karnataka Biodiversity Board has decided to declare as biodiversity heritage sites:

- 1. Antaragange Betta in Kolar district:
- 2. Aadi Narayana Swamy Betta in Chickballapur district
- 3. Mahima Ranga Betta in Nelamangala, Bengaluru district
- 4. The Urumbi area on the Kumaradhara river basin in

Dakshina Kannada district