## African Union (AU)

July 2, 2020

The 33rd Assembly of the African Union was held in Addis Ababa.

The theme of the year 2020-Silencing the Guns: creating conducive for Africa's Development

## About the African Union

- It was officially launched in 2002 in Durban, South Africa as a successor to the Organisation of African Unity (OAU, 1963-1999).
- The African Union (AU) is a continental body consisting of the 55 member states that make up the countries of the African Continent.
- AU was established as a result of the Sirte Declaration
- Four summits which led to formation AU were:
  - The Sirte Extraordinary Session (1999) decided to establish an African Union
  - The Lome Summit (2000) adopted the Constitutive Act of the Union.
  - The Lusaka Summit (2001) drew the road map for the implementation of the AU
  - The Durban Summit (2002) launched the AU and convened the 1st Assembly of the Heads of States of the African Union.
- The AU is guided by its vision of "An Integrated, Prosperous and Peaceful Africa, driven by its own citizens and representing a dynamic force in the global arena."

## Structure of AU

- The work of the AU is implemented through several principal decision-making organs:-
  - The Assembly of Heads of State and Government

- The Executive Council,
- The Permanent Representatives Committee (PRC)
- Specialized Technical Committees (STCs)
- The Peace and Security Council and the African Union Commission.
- The AU structure promotes participation of African citizens and civil society through the Pan-African Parliament and the Economic, Social & Cultural Council (ECOSOCC).
- Organs that handle judicial and legal matters, as well as human rights issues, include:-
  - African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (ACHPR)
  - African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights (AfCHPR)
  - AU Commission on International Law (AUCIL)
  - AU Advisory Board on Corruption (AUABC) and
  - The African Committee of Experts on the Rights and Welfare of the Child.
  - The AU is also working towards the establishment of continental financial institutions (The African Central Bank, The African Investment Bank and the African Monetary Fund)
- The Regional Economic Communities (RECs) and the African Peer Review Mechanism are also key bodies that constitute the structure of the African Union.