22nd Law Commission of India

November 9, 2022

<u>In news</u>—Recently, the Union Government has constituted the Law Commission of India with Justice (retd) Rituraj Awasthi, former Chief Justice of Karnataka High Court, at its head.

22nd Law Commission-

- The Law Commission of India had been remaining vacant since August 31, 2018, after the retirement of the Chairperson of the 21st Commission, former Supreme Court judge Justice BS Chauhan.
- The **22nd Commission was constituted two and a half years** after it was approved by the Union Cabinet in2020.
- Other five members on the panel are former Kerala High Court judge Justice K T Sankaran, M Karunanithi, and law professors Anand Paliwal, D P Verma, and Raka Arya.

Law Commission of India-

- It is a non-statutory body that is constituted by a notification of the Government of India, with definite terms of reference to carry out research in the field of law.
- The Commission makes recommendations to the Government (in the form of Reports) as per its terms of reference.
- It provides excellent thought provoking and vital review of the laws in India.
- The Commission's function is to research and advise the Government of India on legal reform, and is composed of legal experts, and headed by a retired judge.
- The commission is established for a fixed tenure and works as an advisory body to the Ministry of Law and Justice.
- The first Law Commission was established during colonial rule in India, by the East India Company under the Charter Act of 1833, and was presided by Lord Macaulay.

- Few of the most important recommendations made by this First Law Commission were those on, Indian Penal Code (first submitted in 1837 but enacted in 1860 and still in force), Criminal Procedure Code (enacted in 1898, repealed and succeeded by the Criminal Procedure Code of 1973), etc.
- Thereafter three more Law Commissions were established which made a number of other recommendations, the Indian Evidence Act (1872) and Indian Contract Act (1872), etc. being some of the significant ones.
- The first Law Commission of independent India was established in 1955 for a three-year term. Since then, twenty one more Commissions have been established